World Handicap System


Coming in January 2020, the USGA and The R&A are joining forces with the six existing world handicapping authorities to create a single set of Rules for Handicapping.  The new World Handicap System will enable golfers of different abilities to play and compete on a fair and equal basis, no matter how or where they play.

World Handicap System Changes and Informational Videos:

Daily Revisions
Net Double Bogey

Maximum Handicap
Handicap Review
Exceptional Score
Hard and Soft Caps
Playing Handicap
Playing Conditions Calculation (PCC)
No Score Submitted

The handicapping authorities include: Golf Australia, the Council of National Golf Unions (CONGU) in Great Britain and Ireland, the European Golf Association (EGA), the South African Golf Association (SAGA), the Argentine Golf Association (AAG) and the USGA. They represent approximately 15 million golfers in 80 countries who currently have a golf handicap.

The World Handicap System has been a multi-year collaboration between The USGA and The R&A, as well as national and regional golf associations around the world to introduce one set of Rules of Handicapping, aimed to support modernizing, growing and improving accessibility of the sport.

For more information about the World Handicapping System, visit